top of page
Search
  • strausberg

parshat re'eh

Parshat Re’eh, August 23, 1941

who is hiding from whom?

is it you hiding from us,

my dove in the rock,

i beg you,

show yourself to me.


or, is it me,

did I turn away from you,

did I,

God-forbid,

remove you from

the equation of my suffering.


give yourself to me

and I’ll give myself to you.

withhold judgment from me,

and I’ll withhold judgment

from you.


אני לודי

ודודי לי.


Parshat Re'eh, August 23, 1941

Aside from that, sufferings are hester panim, concealment of the Divine Face. When a person perceives within his suffering the Hand of God, and His justice and truth, he abolishes the hester (concealment). He reveals God even out of the hester and dinim (judgments). Then, as the concealment evaporates, it becomes chesed (loving-kindness), which reveals the Divine Light that is the Face of God.


How could we ever have said that the pain concealed God’s Face? Not only does God say (Psalms 91:15), “I am in pain with him,” but God, blessed be He, endures the brunt of our pain. On the contrary, it is the person who does not accept suffering with acquiescence, God forbid, and thinks that his suffering is unjustified, God forbid, who creates the concealment. It is as if, God forbid, he was doing away with God, as it were.


וחוץ מזה, היסורים הם הסתרת פנים, לכן כשרואה גם בהם יד ד' צדקתו

ואמיתיתו, אז מעביר בזה את ההסתרה, ומגלה אותו יתברך גם מתוך

ההסתר וגם מתוך הדינים, וממילא כשההסתר עובר, אז נעשה חסד והתגלות

אור פניו יתברך. ואיך אפשר לומר על היסורים שהם הסתרת פנים, הא "עמו אנכי בצרה"

,וגם הוא יתברך סובל מיסורינו, רק האיש שחס וחלילה אינו מקבלם בהכנעה ודומה לו שחס וחלילה הם בלא משפט, הוא העושה את ההסתר וחס וחלילה כאילו מסלק את הכביכול.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Parshat Nitzavim

God, I cry out to you, from the depths, I pray that my voice reaches your, if you will, ears. even when I’m silent, even when I can’t make a sound, bend your ears to my lips, let my desire be closenes

parshat ki tavo

when the world is too dark, when it pressed downs upon your back, on your body, the weight crushing, squeezing, breaking you, beyond a point you thought possible. when each individual pain is too much

parshat ki titzei

through prayer, i call You into being, stand You before me. no longer hidden, third person singular, impersonal and removed. but through prayer, through insistence, through belief, i manifest You befo

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page