top of page
Search
  • strausberg

Parshat Nitzavim

God, I cry out to you,

from the depths, I pray that

my voice

reaches your,

if you will,

ears.


even when I’m silent,

even when I can’t make a sound,

bend your ears to my lips,

let my desire

be closeness

and draw me near.


until one day,

I can open my mouth,

in full voice,

in full song,

and pray.


Parshat Nitzavim, September 28, 1940

The hidden things belong to God, and that which has been revealed to

Us and our children forever. [We must therefore] keep all the words of this

Torah." (Deut. 29:28)


Every Jewish person prays to God and cries out to Him, blessed be He regarding any calamity [that it should not occur]. And when, God forbid, the trouble is even greater, he cries out even more, as it is written (Esther 4:1), "And Mordechai cried a great and bitter cry." Even when there is no impending calamity, we pray to God because prayer itself is closeness to God. When we pray, we pray with a full voice, as it is written in sacred literature,"The voice awakens the intention, (kavannah) the intention awakens the voice."


But what can we do when they do not permit us to cry out, or even to congregate for prayer, and we are forced to pray in hidden places, and every Jewish heart must lament this alone? At least in the depths of his heart, every Jew must shout out to God about it.


This is the meaning of the verse (Psalms 130:1), "From the depthsI

called to You, O God. God, hear my voice. Let Your ears bend to the voice of my

Supplications." Simply put, it is difficult to understand why we need both Hear my voice

and "Let Your ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications." God, blessed be

He, has no physical body, and is not touched by any of the things that pertain to

the body. The concept of "ears" does not apply to God, for everything above is spiritual. We use physical descriptions only as figures of speech. When we speak to someone, he is usually forced to stop and bend his ears in order to hear quietly what we say. This is what we mean when we pray, "From the depths I called to You. O God."I can call only from the depths of my heart, and not with a loud voice; therefore I say, “God, hear my voice. Let Your ears bend to the voice of my supplication.” What I mean is, "Please, You must bend Your ears, as it were, to listen, to hear my voice. And please, see how they have forbidden me to pray, and how l am

forced to pray in hiding, whispering. If only for the pain that I suffer because of this.

please save me."


This is the meaning of the phrase we quoted at the beginning of the chapter, The hidden things belong to God our Lord. .."The verse refers to both kinds of worship. “The hidden things-- the words that rightfully belong to God, the words ofTorah and prayer, which we are forced to hide still ascend unto God, on condition that the other half of the verse is also fulfilled: "That which has been revealed, to us and our children for ever "


In the Torah text, nikud points appear above each of the letters in the words "to us and our children." The nikud points mean that in the innermost part of our hearts we must be absolutely convinced that this is forever-that when God saves us and we will be rescued, the worship of God for us and for our children will be open, in public, in full voice, and with all the kavanah (intention) of our hearts.


הנסתרות לד' אלוקינו והנגלות לנו ולבנינו עד עולם לעשות את כל דברי התורה הזאת. (דברים כט, כח)


כי על כל צרה שלא תבא, איש הישראלי מתפלל לד' וצועק אליו יתברך,וכשהצרה חס וחלילה יותר גדולה, יותר צועק כמו שאמר הפסוק (אסתר ה:א) "ומרדכי ידע את כל אשר נעשה ויקרע מרדכי את בגדיו וילבש שק ואפר ויצא בתוך העיר ויזעק זעקה גדלה ומרה". "גם בלא צרה מתפללים לד', כי התפילה בעצמה היא התקרבות לד',כשמתפללים מתפללים בקול כמו שכתוב בספרים הקדושים קול מעורר כוונה ,כוונה מעורר קול.


אבל מה נעשה כשלא מניחים אותנו לצעוק ולא להתאסף יחד להתפלל, ורק בסתר מוכרחים להתפלל, וצריך לב כל איש ישראל לדאב על זה בעצמו,ועל כל פנים במעמקי לבו לצעק על זה.

וזה הרמז (תהלים קל, א-ב) "שיר המעלות ממעמקים קראתיך ד', ד' שמעה בקולי תהיינה אזניך קשובות לקול תחנוני", שעל פי פשוט קשה להבין מה הכפל "שמעה בקולי, תהיינה אזניך קשובות לקול תחנוני"? אבל אצלו יתברך שאינו גוף ולא ישיגוהו משיגי הגוף אין שייך אזנים, רק

הכל רוחני למעלה, ומדברים בענינים גופניים לשבר את האוזן, והנה באיש, הדרך הוא כשמדברים אליו בקול נמוך מוכרח הוא להעמיד ולכוון את אזניו כדי שישמע. ועל זה אנו מתפללים "ממעמקים קראתיך ד'", רק ממעמקי לבי ולא בקול גדול, "ד' שמעה בקולי תהיינה אזניך קשובות לקול תחנוני", שמעה נא בקולי שצריכות אזניך כביכול להיות קשובות, וראה נא שאין מניחים אותי להתפלל, רק בסתר ובלחש אני מוכרח להתפלל, ובשביל צער הזה בעצמו שיש לי מזה הושיעני.


וזה "הנסתרות לד' אלוקינו", שניהם במשמע, כשצריכים להסתיר עצמנו בדברים שהם לד' אלוקינו, היינו בתורה ותפילה, זה עולה לד' אלוקינו, ובתנאי ש"והנגלות לנו ולבננו עד עולם לעשות את כל דברי התורה הזאת", ונקוד על לנו ולבנינו, ולפי הנזכר לעיל שבנקודת "לבניו" נקבל על עצמינו שעד עולם כשיעזור ד' לנו ונושע, תהא עבודת ד' לנו ולבנינו בנגלה ובקול ובכוונת הלב.


43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

parshat ki tavo

when the world is too dark, when it pressed downs upon your back, on your body, the weight crushing, squeezing, breaking you, beyond a point you thought possible. when each individual pain is too much

parshat ki titzei

through prayer, i call You into being, stand You before me. no longer hidden, third person singular, impersonal and removed. but through prayer, through insistence, through belief, i manifest You befo

parshat shoftim

even if I believed you, that salvation will come quick, that we’ll be saved in a blink of an eye. there is no I left to believe you. there is no I left to rejoice. there is no person here, remaining.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page