top of page
Search
  • strausberg

Kedoshim

I want to rise up,

To reach you, I do.

But, how can I,

When I am crushed and broken,

When I don’t even know my own self.


I want to rise up,

I do,

But you’ll have to meet me halfway.

I can’t do this on my own.


Parshat Kedoshim, May 4, 1940

Similarly, when God punishes the Jewish person, God forbid, His intention is not that the person be excluded, but that he repent and return to Him. But because suffering makes it difficult for him to rise higher, the person must therefore arouse with himself the desire and the longing to elevate himself; he must try his best, and make an effort to rise himself. Then, whether he succeeds or whether, God forbid, he does not succeed, he still sweetens the judgment. This is because God’s intention is not that the person should remain in this lower state of fear that he not sin, as we have already said. The intention and purpose of the Holy Blessed One is not just that the Jewish person not be damaged but that through this lower fear, he should rise to an exalted fear. The question is: Is he being elevated, or is the opposite happening -- through suffering he becomes broken and sinks, unable to rise?


We can now understand our original text, “You must sanctify yourselves and be holy, because I am God your Lord,” to mean that you must always long for a greater holiness, and indeed make a greater and greater effort even if you are already holy. You will then find that “I am YHVH, God (Elohim)” -- that Elohim, Judgement, has already become YHVH, mercy.


לישראל עד דהנה גם כשח"ו ד' מעניש לאיש הישראלי הוא לזה הכונה כי לא ידח וכו' ולהשיבו אבל כיון שע"י היסורים קשה לעלות מעלה לכן צריך האיש אז לעורר בקרבו רצון ותשוקה לעלות יותר וגם להתאמץ לעלות ואז בין אם יעלה בין אם ח"ו לא ממתיק הוא בזה את הדין כיון שאין תכלית הכוונה שישאר האיש ביראה תתאה זו בלבד שלא יחטא כמו שכבר דברנו שאין כוונתו ית' ותכלית איש הישראלי שלא יזיק איש הישראלי לבד רק שע"י יראה תתאה זו יעלה יותר והאם עולה הוא או הלא אדרבה ע"י היסורים כלו נשבר ושוכב וא"א לו לעלות וזה והתקדשתם וכו' המיד תשתוקקו להתקדש וגם תתקדשו יותר ויותר אפילו כשכבר תהיו קדושים ואז כי אני הויה אלוקיכם שגם אלוקים בחי' דין יומשך לבחינת הויה רחמים




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Parshat Nitzavim

God, I cry out to you, from the depths, I pray that my voice reaches your, if you will, ears. even when I’m silent, even when I can’t make a sound, bend your ears to my lips, let my desire be closenes

parshat ki tavo

when the world is too dark, when it pressed downs upon your back, on your body, the weight crushing, squeezing, breaking you, beyond a point you thought possible. when each individual pain is too much

parshat ki titzei

through prayer, i call You into being, stand You before me. no longer hidden, third person singular, impersonal and removed. but through prayer, through insistence, through belief, i manifest You befo

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page